Planning & Zoning Commission

The Sussex County Planning & Zoning Commission is a five-member panel appointed by the Sussex County Council to consider requests for change of zone, conditional use and subdivision applications. Members are appointed for three-year terms.

The commission acts as an advisory board to the County Council on change of zone and conditional use requests, but has the authority to grant or deny subdivision applications. The Planning & Zoning Commission holds public hearings twice a month.

Comments and correspondence intended for the commission or its members should be entered into the record during Planning & Zoning public hearings, sent by mail to the Planning & Zoning Office, PO Box 417, Georgetown, DE 19947, or submitted electronically here.


Name Robert C. Wheatley, Chairman
Address 30613 Sussex Highway
Laurel, DE 19956
Council District 5
Year Appointed 1995
Current Term Ends 2016

Name Michael B. Johnson
Address 13 Bridgeville Rd
Georgetown, DE 19947
Council District 2
Year Appointed 2005
Current Term Ends 2017

Name Martin L. Ross
Address 16366 Whitesville Road
Delmar, DE 19940
Council District 5
Year Appointed 2009
Current Term Ends 2015

Name Rodney Smith
Address 33310 Ocean Pines Lane
Bethany Beach, DE 19930
Council District 4
Year Appointed 2004
Current Term Ends 2017

Name Irwin G. Burton III
Address 30820 Edgewater Drive
Lewes, DE 19958
Council District 3
Year Appointed 2005
Current Term Ends 2017