Building Permits and Licenses

All construction in Sussex County, whether new, remodeling or additions, requires a Sussex County issued building permit. County permits are required for all construction activity regardless of whether in a municipality or the unincorporated areas of the county.

Payment of Realty Transfer Tax to Sussex County and the State of Delaware may be required prior to the issuing of a building permit for a dwelling where construction contracts have been entered into either prior to the date of transfer of the land or within one year from the date of the transfer of land.

In most cases, applications for permits must be made in person at the County's Building Permit Office in Georgetown. In certain cases, however, you may be able to obtain a permit by mail. Please contact the Permit Office at (302) 855-7720 for additional information.

For more information about Sussex County's building permit requirements, visit the links on the left side of this page.

Permit Office
Hours 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Monday - Friday (excluding holidays)
Address Building Permit Office
2 The Circle, P.O. Box 589
Georgetown, DE 19947
Phone (302) 855-7720
Fax (302) 853-5874